Brainstorm

I’m mulling over some thoughts about the trajectory of my digital activity, and I’m going to grant you access to that mulling process–lucky you!

Some quotes that I’m currently contemplating:

  1. On Krista Tippett’s On Being podcast episode entitled “Tech’s Moral Reckoning,” Anil Dash says, “We bake our values into the choices we make when we design these tools.” In other words: with great power, comes great responsibility.
  2. On the same podcast episode, Anil Dash also states, “You can get a top-of-the-line, the highest credential computer science degree from the most august institutions with essentially having had zero ethics training.” How do we convince people to lead ethical online projects when their training (or lack thereof) seemingly treats ethics as a topic of negligible importance?
  3. Manoush Zomorodi published “The Privacy Paradox Tip Sheet” on the WNYC website in conjunction with her Note to Self podcast entitled “Introducing the Privacy Paradox.”  She writes, “Ask your babysitters, doctors, teachers, accountants and anyone else relevant to be mindful of protecting your personal information.” I like this idea because it evokes a feeling of community; we are all responsible for protecting the privacy of those around us.
  4. The Privacy Paradox project from above published a quiz to help people discover their privacy personalities. From my results, I’m intrigued by this explanation of my online behavior: “As a Realist, you think about privacy, but often choose convenience over any hardline principle.” I would like to offer an amendment: I often choose necessity over any hardline principle. Much of my schoolwork requires me to maintain a certain online presence; although concerned about privacy, I often have to forego “hardline principles” to do what is expected of me to perform well on my assignments.
  5. Also from my results (referencing the above quiz), I’m grappling with this: “You’re uncomfortable with the NSA’s tactics, but also understand that security sometimes comes at a price.” I think this is where the paradox comes in. How can these two conflicting ideas be balanced? …Check back on me later–I don’t know how to fully answer that yet.

For my own future digital projects, I think I would like to focus on communicating my thoughts and ideas via a photo sharing platform. I’m definitely most comfortable expressing myself with words, so I would like to branch out and focus on primarily using visuals to reach an audience. I think because that will be a different endeavor from this blog (I don’t think I’ve posted a single picture here), it will be a smooth transition to have these platforms linked to one another so that people have access to my projects across many presentational forms.

Leave a Reply

