Remediation Narrative Project

IMG_0778
Photo credit: Talia’s Tidbits

Unlike my very first experience creating content online (I made a website for a dearly departed hamster), I was determined that this online endeavor would actually show a level of intentionality and resonate with an audience. Had I chosen to literally translate the story of my hamster and his website homage into new media, I would have been replicating the same lack of deliberate online activity and audience awareness–after all, who (besides myself) cares about Cookie’s passing, especially ten years later? I decided to start from scratch, coming up with an idea completely untouched in my DLN to explore these issues that did arise in the memory my narrative relates.

I decided to create a persona dedicated to recommending books, which, as it turns out, actually has a very active and vibrant place on the internet. I chose to use Instagram as my primary platform (aided by Twitter and a blog), since I wanted to explore how I could use visuals as rhetoric to communicate with an audience, as well as build a niche within a digital community. Guided by my basic research mission on how to attract view/likes/clicks, I heeded Jay David Bolter’s words from “Writing as Technology,” the second chapter of Writing Space: Computers, Hypertext, and the Remediation of Print: “The linear character of print is the outcome of the constant interaction between the properties of the printed book and the decisions that Western authors and readers have made about how to exploit those properties” (21). Instagram is the perfect platform to challenge linearity, since its primary function of photo sharing is combined with a vertical structure. It turns out that capitalizing on the idea of “judging a book by its cover” made my platform choice, where I could share images of book covers for others to “judge,” the best option for this particular purpose.

As you look through my remediated DLN, I hope that what stands out is my effort not only to create a project that is harmonious across platforms, but also one that uses visuals to establish an audience relationship.

Leave a Reply

